Reverse Engineer

Commander 2018
TYPE
Sorcery

ABILITY
Improvise (Your artifacts can help cast this spell. Each artifact you tap after you're done activating mana abilities pays for {1}.) Draw three cards.

FLAVOR TEXT
The Hold, an illegal research facility in a derelict merchant ship, became a wellspring of renegade intelligence.

ILLUSTRATOR
Chase Stone

LEGAL IN
Historic Gladiator Pioneer Modern Legacy Vintage Penny Commander Historicbrawl Duel

LANGUAGES
DE EN ES FR IT JP PT

RULINGS
  • 2018-07-13 Tapping an artifact won’t cause its abilities to stop applying unless those abilities say so.
  • 2018-07-13 When using improvise to cast a spell with {X} in its mana cost, first choose the value for X. That choice, plus any cost increases or decreases, will determine the spell’s total cost. Then you can tap artifacts you control to help pay that cost. For example, if you cast Saheeli’s Directive and choose X to be 3, the total cost is {3}{R}{R}{R}. If you tap two artifacts, you’ll have to pay {1}{R}{R}{R}.
  • 2018-07-13 Improvise can’t be used to pay for anything other than the cost of casting the spell. For example, it can’t be used during the resolution of an ability that says “Counter target spell unless its controller pays {3}.”
  • 2018-07-13 Equipment attached to a creature doesn’t become tapped when that creature becomes tapped, and tapping that Equipment doesn’t cause the creature to become tapped.
  • 2018-07-13 When calculating a spell’s total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Improvise applies after the total cost is calculated.
  • 2018-07-13 If an artifact you control has a mana ability with {T} in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with improvise will result in the artifact being tapped when you pay the spell’s costs. You won’t be able to tap it again for improvise. Similarly, if you sacrifice an artifact to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with improvise, that artifact won’t be on the battlefield when you pay the spell’s costs, so you won’t be able to tap it for improvise.
  • 2018-07-13 Improvise can’t pay for {W}, {U}, {B}, {R}, {G}, or {C} mana symbols in a spell’s total cost.
  • 2018-07-13 Improvise doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost.

Best Deal

-


Secure and guaranteed transactions.


Any doubt about your purchases? Our staff is available to support you.

Filters

NMPO